No ‘Poo, and no crap either.

Fresh from a sinfully scalding hot shower and squeaky clean, I sit now enjoying the smell of fresh Mongo. Clean, not wreathed in perfumed clouds of artificial odor from the newest in body wash or shampoo, but clean none the less.

My hair still slightly wet from the water, I decided to share a not so dirty little secret with my closest friends. For two years last December 2011, I’ve used nothing on my hair but pure (or as close as we can get to pure) tap water to wash it. And before you recoil in disgust, allow me a moment to assure you, my hair is as clean and sweet smelling as yours, but without all the chemicals or detergents.

Dharmachick turned me onto the concept of “No Poo” early in the summer of 2009, after asking me if I had ever heard of the idea. I had not up to then, but I’m a sucker for a pretty face and gave her my full attention. It seemed there were those who for various reasons eschewed shampoo all together and used little more than baking soda and water as their choice for washing their hair.

I was intrigued.

I’ve always been overly sensitive to strong scents, some odors that others find delightful can send me into a headache that will last for days. And finding shampoo and soaps that were unscented was an onerous task at best. And these neo-hippies were raving about how clean and fresh smelling their hair was without exposure to unpronounceable materials that should come with an Material Safety Data Sheet.

Water is all you need to remove the build-up of daily oils and environmental ick that collects in your hair. And if you are particularly soiled, a paste of baking soda and water rubbed through your tresses will bring you back to a pristine state without scouring all of the natural oils which protect your hair from damage and breaking.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a level 4 vegan or some wild eyes algorean earth worshiper, I’m just an old guy who wants to be clean. Clean and NOT smelling like a lilac or some bizarre tropical plant no one in the good old USA has ever seen in its native environment. And I won’t even begin to get into the chemical exposure which is supposedly safe…

So before you toss me out with the bath water, give the idea a chance.

Leave a Reply

